Welcome to Keen Software House Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the KSH community.
  1. Hello Guest!
    Welcome to the Bug Report forum, please make sure you search for your problem before posting here. If you post a duplicate (that you post the same issue while other people have already done that before) you will be given a warning point which can eventually lead into account limitations !

    Here you can find a guide on how to post a good bug report thread.
    Space Engineers version [Extra] --- Medieval Engineers version
  2. You are currently browsing our forum as a guest. Create your own forum account to access all forum functionality.

[01_181_400] [DS] - Massive Memory Leak in client ...

Discussion in 'Bug Reports' started by R-TEAM, Jun 30, 2017.

  1. R-TEAM

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    Messages:
    332
    Trophy Points:
    47
    Hi,

    the DS is currently running nice (in therms of Memory Usage ..)
    But my client is going after 2-3h playing on 13+ GB !!

    Code:
    2017-06-30 13:42:01.465 - Thread:  1 ->  ToBlock null in MechanicalConnection.Reatach
    2017-06-30 13:42:01.468 - Thread:  1 ->  removing streaming group for not loaded replicable !
    2017-06-30 13:42:01.468 - Thread:  1 ->  removing streaming group for not loaded replicable !
    2017-06-30 13:42:03.490 - Thread:  1 ->  ToBlock null in MechanicalConnection.Reatach
    2017-06-30 13:42:04.244 - Thread:  1 ->  ToBlock null in MechanicalConnection.Reatach
    2017-06-30 13:42:05.934 - Thread:  1 ->  ToBlock null in MechanicalConnection.Reatach
    2017-06-30 13:42:07.593 - Thread:  1 ->  removing streaming group for not loaded replicable !
    2017-06-30 13:42:09.348 - Thread:  1 ->  ToBlock null in MechanicalConnection.Reatach
    2017-06-30 13:42:10.988 - Thread:  1 ->  ToBlock null in MechanicalConnection.Reatach
    2017-06-30 13:42:12.645 - Thread:  1 ->  GC Memory: 13,659,369,376 B
    2017-06-30 13:42:12.652 - Thread:  1 ->  ToBlock null in MechanicalConnection.Reatach
    Regards
     
  2. Roxette

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2014
    Messages:
    495
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Memory leak in the game has been such a consistent problem I've long adopted the practice of keeping task manager visible so I can just restart it before it exceeds physical memory and starts running into swap :/ It is particularly bad since yesterday's update.
     
  3. R-TEAM

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    Messages:
    332
    Trophy Points:
    47
    Yep - restart the client is "practicable" - with >200Mods realy looong and boring ...
    But restart the server (good ATM here no problem ..) is way more bad ...
    All musst stop tasks/secure ships
    Server musst shut down ...
    Server restart (take looong too ..)
    And then all clients musst be reconectet, take additionaly a long time ...

    So an server restart take ~ 40min before all are ingame again .....

    Regards
     
  4. JTConsortium

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2014
    Messages:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    112
    This has been a problem for me for several weeks now. The game is practically unplayable in its current state. After just a couple minutes of game play it's sopping up nearly all my system's free RAM and it only has 8 gigs.

    And I certainly can't afford doubling my RAM. If things don't get "optimized" pretty soon like they've been bragging about then I'll have to just give up on this game and be done with it.
     
  5. Jikanta

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2014
    Messages:
    388
    Trophy Points:
    132
    I had the same problem for a short while. But I upgraded my cpu from a dual to a quad core. Huge improvement in SEs performance. Still the same 8 gigs of ram.
     
  6. R-TEAM

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    Messages:
    332
    Trophy Points:
    47
    Have an 12Core 3,8Ghz Xeon CPU 16GB RAM.....
    AMD FirePro w8100 8GB GPU .....

    Mabybe an 3k$ CPU and an 1500$ GPU is not enough for the Game ....... (not menton the ECC RAM and Workstation Pro System ..)

    And still with 1.181.401 ...
     
  7. Sprouto

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    1
    We only experience the memory leak issue on our DS when clients use multiple methods of joining - for example - most of our clients connect via direct IP -- but from time to time, there will be a LAN connection from someone at the site that is hosting the DS. As soon as that happens, ALL the clients begin experiencing a rapidly growing memory leak that is persistent. Gameplay is not affected in any discernable way, but eventually the memory use will cause the clients to start doing virtual memory swaps, which manifest themselves as large 'pauses', and inevitably, the client will crash. The server itself is not affected by the leak.
     
  8. R-TEAM

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    Messages:
    332
    Trophy Points:
    47
    All player on my DS (include me) use regular Steam connection .... (so no probleme here ..)

    After deleting the shader cache directory from the client ... "it looks" it is fixed .... but cant say 100% ... ATM the client stay at ~3,9GB (normal usage ..)

    Regards
    --- Automerge ---
    NOPE

    Problem still here ... just raise the RAM usage of the client to 11GB ............................ close the client and open/reconnect is not an nice workaround ....
    (have thinked one of the mods as root of the problem .. but all other player on the server have no problems ... but all ATM active player have Nvida cards - except me -- AMD ...)

    Regards
     
  9. R-TEAM

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    Messages:
    332
    Trophy Points:
    47
    Hi - Update ..
    have seen, the memory leak is only happen, if i around my base ...
    If i mining on resources a couple of KM away , memory usage stay in normal levels ..
    So i have looked over my base what i have different to my other player on my server (here none have this problem ..)
    Strange ... after many blocks testet (removed and play a half hour) i found the "Problem" ...
    An, simply and not dangerous looking Mod block ..
    Mod : (DX11) Kitchen
    Block : Table & Chair

    i have this build to sit in my base ... sad i cant look around with it ....
    After removing of the block, no more strange memory usage (stay in 3-5GB) from the client ...
    And i have build then another mod block ((DX11) Benches mod - an bench) and here no problems ...

    Dont know if this an mod only problem (wrong/coruppt Textures/3DModell/Meash ..) or only an SE bug that come in combo with this block ....

    Regards
    --- Automerge ---
    Crap .... it looks it was an random luck .... the removing of the block have only the one day helped .. maybe side effects ?
    Have now again the Memory leak .... after 1h -> 9GB ....
    It is only happen around my base - have it build in an hillside ... maybe an bug related to the many altered voxel ...

    Regards
     
  10. R-TEAM

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    Messages:
    332
    Trophy Points:
    47
    Still in 1.181.501 ->
    Code:
    2017-07-07 23:18:22.232 - Thread:  1 ->  ToBlock null in MechanicalConnection.Reatach
    2017-07-07 23:18:22.302 - Thread:  1 ->  removing streaming group for not loaded replicable !
    2017-07-07 23:18:22.303 - Thread:  1 ->  removing streaming group for not loaded replicable !
    2017-07-07 23:18:22.303 - Thread:  1 ->  removing streaming group for not loaded replicable !
    2017-07-07 23:18:23.775 - Thread:  1 ->  removing streaming group for not loaded replicable !
    2017-07-07 23:18:23.776 - Thread:  1 ->  removing streaming group for not loaded replicable !
    2017-07-07 23:18:25.568 - Thread:  1 ->  ToBlock null in MechanicalConnection.Reatach
    2017-07-07 23:18:26.265 - Thread:  1 ->  ToBlock null in MechanicalConnection.Reatach
    2017-07-07 23:18:27.206 - Thread:  1 ->  ToBlock null in MechanicalConnection.Reatach
    2017-07-07 23:18:27.307 - Thread:  1 ->  ToBlock null in MechanicalConnection.Reatach
    2017-07-07 23:18:28.328 - Thread:  1 ->  ToBlock null in MechanicalConnection.Reatach
    2017-07-07 23:18:29.030 - Thread:  1 ->  ToBlock null in MechanicalConnection.Reatach
    2017-07-07 23:18:32.388 - Thread:  1 ->  ToBlock null in MechanicalConnection.Reatach
    2017-07-07 23:18:32.967 - Thread:  1 ->  GC Memory: 12,064,004,032 B
    2017-07-07 23:18:34.068 - Thread:  1 ->  ToBlock null in MechanicalConnection.Reatach
    2017-07-07 23:18:34.089 - Thread:  1 ->  removing streaming group for not loaded replicable !
    2017-07-07 23:18:34.090 - Thread:  1 ->  removing streaming group for not loaded replicable !
    2017-07-07 23:18:35.339 - Thread:  1 ->  MyGuiScreenBase.UnloadContent - START
    2017-07-07 23:18:35.340 - Thread:  1 ->  MyGuiScreenBase.UnloadContent - END
    2017-07-07 23:18:43.167 - Thread:  1 ->  ToBlock null in MechanicalConnection.Reatach
    2017-07-07 23:18:43.269 - Thread:  1 ->  removing streaming group for not loaded replicable !
    2017-07-07 23:18:43.270 - Thread:  1 ->  removing streaming group for not loaded replicable !
    2017-07-07 23:18:43.376 - Thread:  1 ->  removing streaming group for not loaded replicable !
    2017-07-07 23:18:43.377 - Thread:  1 ->  removing streaming group for not loaded replicable !
    2017-07-07 23:18:45.108 - Thread:  1 ->  ToBlock null in MechanicalConnection.Reatach
    2017-07-07 23:18:46.084 - Thread:  1 ->  ToBlock null in MechanicalConnection.Reatach
    2017-07-07 23:18:47.105 - Thread:  1 ->  ToBlock null in MechanicalConnection.Reatach
    2017-07-07 23:18:48.193 - Thread:  1 ->  ToBlock null in MechanicalConnection.Reatach
    2017-07-07 23:18:49.180 - Thread:  1 ->  ToBlock null in MechanicalConnection.Reatach
    2017-07-07 23:18:50.251 - Thread:  1 ->  ToBlock null in MechanicalConnection.Reatach
    2017-07-07 23:18:51.255 - Thread:  1 ->  ToBlock null in MechanicalConnection.Reatach
    2017-07-07 23:18:51.258 - Thread:  1 ->  removing streaming group for not loaded replicable !
    2017-07-07 23:18:53.331 - Thread:  1 ->  ToBlock null in MechanicalConnection.Reatach
    2017-07-07 23:18:54.234 - Thread:  1 ->  ToBlock null in MechanicalConnection.Reatach
    2017-07-07 23:18:54.351 - Thread:  1 ->  ToBlock null in MechanicalConnection.Reatach
    2017-07-07 23:18:55.395 - Thread:  1 ->  ToBlock null in MechanicalConnection.Reatach
    2017-07-07 23:18:56.444 - Thread:  1 ->  ToBlock null in MechanicalConnection.Reatach
    2017-07-07 23:18:57.464 - Thread:  1 ->  ToBlock null in MechanicalConnection.Reatach
    2017-07-07 23:18:58.469 - Thread:  1 ->  ToBlock null in MechanicalConnection.Reatach
    2017-07-07 23:19:00.242 - Thread:  1 ->  ToBlock null in MechanicalConnection.Reatach
    2017-07-07 23:19:01.883 - Thread:  1 ->  ToBlock null in MechanicalConnection.Reatach
    2017-07-07 23:19:02.974 - Thread:  1 ->  GC Memory: 12,117,620,480 B
    2017-07-07 23:19:03.657 - Thread:  1 ->  ToBlock null in MechanicalConnection.Reatach
    2017-07-07 23:19:05.247 - Thread:  1 ->  ToBlock null in MechanicalConnection.Reatach
    2017-07-07 23:19:05.266 - Thread:  1 ->  removing streaming group for not loaded replicable !
    2017-07-07 23:19:05.267 - Thread:  1 ->  removing streaming group for not loaded replicable !
    2017-07-07 23:19:05.363 - Thread:  1 ->  ToBlock null in MechanicalConnection.Reatach
    2017-07-07 23:19:07.053 - Thread:  1 ->  ToBlock null in MechanicalConnection.Reatach
    2017-07-07 23:19:08.661 - Thread:  1 ->  ToBlock null in MechanicalConnection.Reatach
    2017-07-07 23:19:08.778 - Thread:  1 ->  ToBlock null in MechanicalConnection.Reatach
    2017-07-07 23:19:08.847 - Thread:  1 ->  removing streaming group for not loaded replicable !
    2017-07-07 23:19:08.848 - Thread:  1 ->  removing streaming group for not loaded replicable !
    2017-07-07 23:19:12.057 - Thread:  1 ->  ToBlock null in MechanicalConnection.Reatach
    2017-07-07 23:19:12.144 - Thread:  1 ->  removing streaming group for not loaded replicable !
    2017-07-07 23:19:12.145 - Thread:  1 ->  removing streaming group for not loaded replicable !
    2017-07-07 23:19:15.508 - Thread:  1 ->  removing streaming group for not loaded replicable !
    2017-07-07 23:19:15.509 - Thread:  1 ->  removing streaming group for not loaded replicable !
    2017-07-07 23:19:22.185 - Thread:  1 ->  removing streaming group for not loaded replicable !
    2017-07-07 23:19:22.185 - Thread:  1 ->  removing streaming group for not loaded replicable !
    2017-07-07 23:19:25.451 - Thread:  1 ->  ToBlock null in MechanicalConnection.Reatach
    2017-07-07 23:19:25.678 - Thread:  1 ->  removing streaming group for not loaded replicable !
    2017-07-07 23:19:25.678 - Thread:  1 ->  removing streaming group for not loaded replicable !
    2017-07-07 23:19:25.679 - Thread:  1 ->  removing streaming group for not loaded replicable !
    2017-07-07 23:19:25.680 - Thread:  1 ->  removing streaming group for not loaded replicable !
    2017-07-07 23:19:25.680 - Thread:  1 ->  removing streaming group for not loaded replicable !
    2017-07-07 23:19:25.681 - Thread:  1 ->  removing streaming group for not loaded replicable !
    2017-07-07 23:19:32.336 - Thread:  1 ->  ToBlock null in MechanicalConnection.Reatach
    2017-07-07 23:19:32.389 - Thread:  1 ->  removing streaming group for not loaded replicable !
    2017-07-07 23:19:32.390 - Thread:  1 ->  removing streaming group for not loaded replicable !
    2017-07-07 23:19:32.975 - Thread:  1 ->  GC Memory: 12,401,693,144 B
    --- Automerge ---
    Client go now in 10 ! minutes from 4GB to 14GB ....
    higly suspecting problem (again..) with AMD GPUs and the DX11 Engine...
     
  11. R-TEAM

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    Messages:
    332
    Trophy Points:
    47
    Update - it looks , the last hotfix "Fix" it - not 100% but playable ...
    Get still RAM spikes from at top ~8GB with the client , but then it settle down to normal usage ...
    Have noticed (have not noted this before .. so it musst be anyway to do with the "fix" ) that every time i get an spike, the screen freeze for short time (~0,5sec) ...
    Think more and more an AMD problem with shaders or related (again - not the first time i have this problems on my server - i am one of 2 where have AMD cards and the other is ATM in vacation ..- all other Nvidia, but was going from unplayable without disable certain gfx settings to full driver crash with only PC restart helps .. this on an workstation with certificed and actuall Pro drivers for all related components.....)

    Regards
     
  12. R-TEAM

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    Messages:
    332
    Trophy Points:
    47
    Still no luck .... all the things i have thinked it fix it (the modded block, the Hotfix..) was only rare luck gameplay without this bug (to an level it exceeds my memory - still partly over 8GB SE Clent alone ..)..
    Have still this bug, to an amount, i cant play more than 15min before i musst close my clint as it consumes 13+ GB RAM(or the PC crash so hard, it is then only black screen and only power off doing anything ..think the GPU driver crash, as AMD GPUs still awfull supportet by the "new" DX11 engine from SE...)
    Drivers ALL up to date (GPU driver Jun 2017 / Win10 Pro )
    Here the SE Client config/Log and DX log in an 7zip File
    https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B_BPTxfrYTtYLUxNdTcwNXVsaVk

    I know i have many mods - but all other player have zero problems (but all ATM active players have Nvidia GPUs - except me ..)

    Ragards
     
  13. Spanners

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    92
    Also having this - it seems to happen way more when building small grid ships.

    Intel CPU (i7-5930k), nvidia card (GTX 980ti) and ample ram (32gb)

    Our server does use mods (7) - not expecting this to be supported, just may help us to see anything common (in case this issue is self inflicted):
    • S - Imhotep Thruster [435014878]
    • VCZ Smooth Elevators [862644452]
    • Airtight Force Field Hangar Doors [901800144]
    • Energy Shields [484504816]
    • RCS Thruster [391667552]
    • Big Gate [294621451]
    • Configurable Max Ship Speed Mod [599536562]
    and 2 scripts in use:
    • Automatic LCDs 2
    • Taleden's Inventory Manager
     
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2017 at 18:52
  14. R-TEAM

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    Messages:
    332
    Trophy Points:
    47
    Have an thinking, it can be related to voxel display/creation with the "special" DX version 11.2, SE uses (as the only game i know where use 11.x+ and not v12 ..)
    Have the problem nearly only in a limited range of my "HomeBase" , and i build it in an hill - so massive voxel changes was needed - an very big hole with many tunnels and holes ...
    Like the memory rises only if i in the range of this "Hole complex" - if i fly/Drive away - the memory filling most times stop and go back to normal if i stay away ..
    But this is not an solution ....

    Regards