Welcome to Keen Software House Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the KSH community.
  1. Hello Guest!
    Welcome to the Bug Report forum, please make sure you search for your problem before posting here. If you post a duplicate (that you post the same issue while other people have already done that before) you will be given a warning point which can eventually lead into account limitations !

    Here you can find a guide on how to post a good bug report thread.
    Space Engineers version --- Medieval Engineers version
  2. You are currently browsing our forum as a guest. Create your own forum account to access all forum functionality.

[1.101.020] DX11 crashes on start, shader compilation fails (likely Nvidia specific)

Discussion in 'Bug Reports' started by roothorick, Sep 25, 2015.

Thread Status:
This last post in this thread was made more than 31 days old.
  1. roothorick Trainee Engineer

    Messages:
    75
    Code:
    2015-09-24 18:09:30.858 - Thread: 15 -> Exception occured: VRageRender.MyRenderException: Failed to compile shaderps_[blur_planet.hlsl][blur_h]
    at VRageRender.MyShaders.Compile(ShaderBytecodeId bytecode, Boolean invalidateCache)
    at VRageRender.MyShaders.InitPs(PixelShaderId id)
    at VRageRender.MyShaders.CreatePs(String file, String func, String header)
    at VRageRender.MyPlanetBlur.RecreateShadersForSettings()
    at VRageRender.OnSettingsChangedDelegate.Invoke()
    at VRageRender.MyRender11.UpdateRenderSettings(MyRenderSettings1 settings)
    at VRageRender.MyRender11.ProcessMessageInternal(IMyRenderMessage message)
    at VRageRender.MyRender11.ProcessMessage(IMyRenderMessage message)
    at VRageRender.MyRender11.ProcessPreFrame(MyUpdateFrame frame, MessageFilterDelegate filter)
    at VRageRender.MyRender11.ProcessMessageQueue()
    at VRageRender.MyRender11.Draw(Boolean draw)
    at VRage.MyRenderThread.Draw()
    at VRage.MyRenderThread.RenderCallback()
    at SharpDX.Windows.RenderLoop.Run(Control form, RenderCallback renderCallback, Boolean useApplicationDoEvents)
    at VRage.MyRenderThread.RenderThreadStart(Object param)
    at System.Threading.ExecutionContext.RunInternal(ExecutionContext executionContext, ContextCallback callback, Object state, Boolean preserveSyncCtx)
    at System.Threading.ExecutionContext.Run(ExecutionContext executionContext, ContextCallback callback, Object state, Boolean preserveSyncCtx)
    at System.Threading.ExecutionContext.Run(ExecutionContext executionContext, ContextCallback callback, Object state)
    at System.Threading.ThreadHelper.ThreadStart(Object obj)
    2015-09-24 18:09:30.859 - Thread: 15 -> Hiding window
    2015-09-24 18:09:31.203 - Thread: 15 -> Hiding window done
    2015-09-24 18:09:31.203 - Thread: 15 -> Showing message
    2015-09-24 18:09:31.246 - Thread: 1 -> Exception occured: System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
    at Sandbox.Engine.Networking.MySteam.get_BranchName()
    at Sandbox.Game.Gui.MyGuiScreenMainMenu.DrawAppVersion()
    at Sandbox.Game.Gui.MyGuiScreenMainMenu.Draw()
    at Sandbox.Graphics.GUI.MyScreenManager.Draw()
    at Sandbox.Graphics.GUI.MyDX9Gui.Draw()
    at Sandbox.MySandboxGame.PrepareForDraw()
    at Sandbox.Engine.Platform.Game.UpdateInternal()
    at Sandbox.Engine.Platform.FixedRenderLoop.<>c__DisplayClass2.<Run>b__1()
    at Sandbox.Engine.Platform.GenericRenderLoop.Run(VoidAction tickCallback)
    at Sandbox.Engine.Platform.FixedRenderLoop.Run(VoidAction tickCallback)
    at Sandbox.MySandboxGame.Run(Boolean customRenderLoop, Action disposeSplashScreen)
    at SpaceEngineers.MyProgram.RunInternal(String[] args)
    at SpaceEngineers.MyProgram.Main(String[] args)
    DX9 runs fine.

    Windows 7 x64, GeForce GTX 760. Currently on driver 355.98. So the "does not meet system requirements" message is more than a little insulting, but I digress.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. tankmayvin Senior Engineer

    Messages:
    2,864
    I'm getting an error msg that my card does not meet minimum requirements as well. GTX 760s in SLI (obvs does nothing for SE) as well.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. thedarkdragon89 Trainee Engineer

    Messages:
    26
    I'm having the same problem, GTX760 here as well.
     
  4. Ceztu Apprentice Engineer

    Messages:
    138
    Same card here. Tested my self too.

    DX9 runs fine, but DX11 gives you the "Doesn't meet minimum requirements" error.
     
  5. thedarkdragon89 Trainee Engineer

    Messages:
    26
    I don't even get the chance to change to DX9. Game crashes on load and before main menu.
     
  6. dumdumdum Trainee Engineer

    Messages:
    24
    I am having the same issue except I am using a MSI r9 390. How do I revert to d9?
     
  7. Ceztu Apprentice Engineer

    Messages:
    138
    It crashed for me too.
    You can edit the config files in Users/"Your user name"/AppData/Roaming/Space Engineers to set it back manually.

    The line for it is around the bottom half.
     
  8. thedarkdragon89 Trainee Engineer

    Messages:
    26
    That's confirmation that this is not just an Nvidia issue.
     
  9. mjpietra Trainee Engineer

    Messages:
    10
    I have the same error, GTX960. How do you get it back to DX9?
     
  10. thedarkdragon89 Trainee Engineer

    Messages:
    26
    Thanks, I'll give it a try.
     
  11. Stoner91 Trainee Engineer

    Messages:
    52
    Same problem, crash on start. I have an Nvidia gtx 645, I was also using DX11.
     
  12. Ceztu Apprentice Engineer

    Messages:
    138
    Look for this line:

    <item>
    <Key xsi:type="xsd:string">GraphicsRenderer</Key>
    <Value xsi:type="xsd:string">DirectX 11</Value>

    It's around at the bottom of the configs, past all the key settings.
     
  13. thedarkdragon89 Trainee Engineer

    Messages:
    26
    I found it, SE runs fine in DX9 for me as well, the game is reading my GC correctly. Hopefully Keen with patch quickly.
     
  14. mjpietra Trainee Engineer

    Messages:
    10
    Thank you
     
  15. carnivore Apprentice Engineer

    Messages:
    158
    Getting the same problem with a 780 here. Do I just change the "11" to a "9" in there?
     
  16. Ceztu Apprentice Engineer

    Messages:
    138
    It should write DirectX 11 for you now. Wite it back to 9 and see if it runs.
     
  17. tankmayvin Senior Engineer

    Messages:
    2,864
    Reverting to DX9 works for me as well.
     
  18. carnivore Apprentice Engineer

    Messages:
    158
    Thanks, trying it now.
     
  19. dumdumdum Trainee Engineer

    Messages:
    24
    Could someone be very specific on how to change back to dx9? I have no idea what to do.
     
  20. Ryuuji Apprentice Engineer

    Messages:
    230
    Just great keen, now I can't play SE even in DirectX11.

    Since I'm on Windows 10 my SE either freezes in the main menu or/and can't be closed, only trough a reboot. I could play in DrectX11 but now it crashes during the game load screen with a render error and that I do not meet the requirements.

    I got a 780ti and an i7 4770k which by far exceeds the minimal requirements. Also why does the game Crash if it doesn't meet the requirements. Either the game can start or it can't.

    Keen, at least start your game up once to see if it even works.


    To change DirectX 9 got to:
    Code:
    C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\SpaceEngineers
    
    open the SpaceEnginers.cfg file in Notepad/editor and search for the string:
    
    <Key xsi:type="xsd:string">GraphicsRenderer</Key>
          <Value xsi:type="xsd:string">DirectX 9</Value>
    
    Change the 9 to an 11
    
    <Key xsi:type="xsd:string">GraphicsRenderer</Key>
          <Value xsi:type="xsd:string">DirectX 11</Value>
     
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2015
  21. carnivore Apprentice Engineer

    Messages:
    158
    Boom, fixed it. Thanks dude!
     
  22. Ceztu Apprentice Engineer

    Messages:
    138
    Go into C:\Users\"Your user name"\App Data (It is a hidden folder by default, so go into the Sorting drop down list on the top, go into Folder and Search settings and in the view tab look for Hidden files and folders and set it to viewable. Unless you already have it set.) \Roaming\Space Engineers\ SpaceEngineer.cfg

    Open that file and look for this line around the bottom:

    <item>
    <Key xsi:type="xsd:string">GraphicsRenderer</Key>
    <Value xsi:type="xsd:string">DirectX 11</Value>

    Write 11 back to nine, save the file than run Space Engineers.

    Hope this helped.
     
  23. carnivore Apprentice Engineer

    Messages:
    158
    Ok, so go to your C drive. Go to the "users" folder. Go to your user name, now to the app data folder, then to roaming. Now select the folder for Space Engineers. Look for a file called "SpaceEngineers.cfg" open this with notepad. Hit "ctrl+F" to find a word and type in "render". I was able to find "directx 11" one line under the second instance of the word "render". Hope that helps.
     
  24. Demo Apprentice Engineer

    Messages:
    126
    GTX 660 here- Same issues, crashes after world loads.
     
  25. welkar926 Apprentice Engineer

    Messages:
    258
    No crash for me. I'm using Windows 7 x64 with an Nvidia GTX 760 and DX11 works fine.

    Driver version is 353.62, if anyone asks. Maybe it's because of driver versions?
     
  26. 666Savior Apprentice Engineer

    Messages:
    196
    Having same problem. Log looks near identical to OP. Reverting back to dx 9 fixed it.

    Computer specs:

    Win 10 64x OS
    AMD FX-8150 (first gen 8 core) 4.2 GHz
    EVGA GTX 760 FTW Driver: 355.98
    1 120 GB Vertex 4 SSD
    2 250 GB SSDs (one Samsung, One OCZ)
    1 1TB main HDD
    16 GB DDR3 1600 GSKILL RipJaw RAM


    I've been running Space engineers fine since day one, this is the first game breaking problem I have had


    My error log:

    2015-09-24 19:55:57.313 - Thread: 15 -> Error processing message: SwitchRenderSettings
    2015-09-24 19:55:57.325 - Thread: 15 -> Exception occured: VRageRender.MyRenderException: Failed to compile shaderps_[blur_planet.hlsl][blur_h]
    at VRageRender.MyShaders.Compile(ShaderBytecodeId bytecode, Boolean invalidateCache)
    at VRageRender.MyShaders.InitPs(PixelShaderId id)
    at VRageRender.MyShaders.CreatePs(String file, String func, String header)
    at VRageRender.MyPlanetBlur.RecreateShadersForSettings()
    at VRageRender.OnSettingsChangedDelegate.Invoke()
    at VRageRender.MyRender11.UpdateRenderSettings(MyRenderSettings1 settings)
    at VRageRender.MyRender11.ProcessMessageInternal(IMyRenderMessage message)
    at VRageRender.MyRender11.ProcessMessage(IMyRenderMessage message)
    at VRageRender.MyRender11.ProcessRenderFrame(MyUpdateFrame frame, MessageFilterDelegate filter)
    at VRageRender.MyRender11.ProcessMessageQueue()
    at VRageRender.MyRender11.Draw(Boolean draw)
    at VRage.MyRenderThread.Draw()
    at VRage.MyRenderThread.RenderCallback()
    at SharpDX.Windows.RenderLoop.Run(Control form, RenderCallback renderCallback, Boolean useApplicationDoEvents)
    at VRage.MyRenderThread.RenderThreadStart(Object param)
    at System.Threading.ExecutionContext.RunInternal(ExecutionContext executionContext, ContextCallback callback, Object state, Boolean preserveSyncCtx)
    at System.Threading.ExecutionContext.Run(ExecutionContext executionContext, ContextCallback callback, Object state, Boolean preserveSyncCtx)
    at System.Threading.ExecutionContext.Run(ExecutionContext executionContext, ContextCallback callback, Object state)
    at System.Threading.ThreadHelper.ThreadStart(Object obj)
    2015-09-24 19:55:57.325 - Thread: 15 -> Hiding window
    2015-09-24 19:55:57.850 - Thread: 15 -> Hiding window done
    2015-09-24 19:55:57.850 - Thread: 15 -> Showing message
    2015-09-24 19:55:57.861 - Thread: 1 -> Exception occured: System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
    at Sandbox.Game.Gui.MyGuiScreenMainMenu.DrawAppVersion()
    at Sandbox.Game.Gui.MyGuiScreenMainMenu.Draw()
    at Sandbox.Graphics.GUI.MyScreenManager.Draw()
    at Sandbox.Graphics.GUI.MyDX9Gui.Draw()
    at Sandbox.MySandboxGame.PrepareForDraw()
    at Sandbox.Engine.Platform.Game.UpdateInternal()
    at Sandbox.Engine.Platform.FixedRenderLoop.<>c__DisplayClass2.<Run>b__1()
    at Sandbox.Engine.Platform.GenericRenderLoop.Run(VoidAction tickCallback)
    at Sandbox.MySandboxGame.Run(Boolean customRenderLoop, Action disposeSplashScreen)
    at SpaceEngineers.MyProgram.RunInternal(String[] args)
    at SpaceEngineers.MyProgram.Main(String[] args)


    Edit: Added error log
     
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2015
    • Like Like x 1
  27. Runningwithhamster Trainee Engineer

    Messages:
    76
    GTX 760 ==> same problem :(

    015-09-25 02:51:26.635 - Thread: 15 -> Error processing message: SwitchRenderSettings
    2015-09-25 02:51:26.638 - Thread: 15 -> Exception occured: VRageRender.MyRenderException: Failed to compile shaderps_[blur_planet.hlsl][blur_h]
    at VRageRender.MyShaders.Compile(ShaderBytecodeId bytecode, Boolean invalidateCache)
    at VRageRender.MyShaders.InitPs(PixelShaderId id)
    at VRageRender.MyShaders.CreatePs(String file, String func, String header)
    at VRageRender.MyPlanetBlur.RecreateShadersForSettings()
    at VRageRender.OnSettingsChangedDelegate.Invoke()
    at VRageRender.MyRender11.UpdateRenderSettings(MyRenderSettings1 settings)
    at VRageRender.MyRender11.ProcessMessageInternal(IMyRenderMessage message)
    at VRageRender.MyRender11.ProcessMessage(IMyRenderMessage message)
    at VRageRender.MyRender11.ProcessPreFrame(MyUpdateFrame frame, MessageFilterDelegate filter)
    at VRageRender.MyRender11.ProcessMessageQueue()
    at VRageRender.MyRender11.Draw(Boolean draw)
    at VRage.MyRenderThread.Draw()
    at VRage.MyRenderThread.RenderCallback()
    at SharpDX.Windows.RenderLoop.Run(Control form, RenderCallback renderCallback, Boolean useApplicationDoEvents)
    at VRage.MyRenderThread.RenderThreadStart(Object param)
    at System.Threading.ExecutionContext.RunInternal(ExecutionContext executionContext, ContextCallback callback, Object state, Boolean preserveSyncCtx)
    at System.Threading.ExecutionContext.Run(ExecutionContext executionContext, ContextCallback callback, Object state, Boolean preserveSyncCtx)
    at System.Threading.ExecutionContext.Run(ExecutionContext executionContext, ContextCallback callback, Object state)
    at System.Threading.ThreadHelper.ThreadStart(Object obj)
    2015-09-25 02:51:26.639 - Thread: 15 -> Hiding window
    2015-09-25 02:51:27.024 - Thread: 15 -> Hiding window done
    2015-09-25 02:51:27.024 - Thread: 15 -> Showing message
    2015-09-25 02:51:27.040 - Thread: 1 -> Exception occured: System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
    at Sandbox.Game.Gui.MyGuiScreenMainMenu.DrawAppVersion()
    at Sandbox.Game.Gui.MyGuiScreenMainMenu.Draw()
    at Sandbox.Graphics.GUI.MyScreenManager.Draw()
    at Sandbox.Graphics.GUI.MyDX9Gui.Draw()
    at Sandbox.MySandboxGame.PrepareForDraw()
    at Sandbox.Engine.Platform.Game.UpdateInternal()
    at Sandbox.Engine.Platform.FixedRenderLoop.<>c__DisplayClass2.<Run>b__1()
    at Sandbox.Engine.Platform.GenericRenderLoop.Run(VoidAction tickCallback)
    at Sandbox.MySandboxGame.Run(Boolean customRenderLoop, Action disposeSplashScreen)
    at SpaceEngineers.MyProgram.RunInternal(String[] args)
    at SpaceEngineers.MyProgram.Main(String[] args)
     
  28. Ceztu Apprentice Engineer

    Messages:
    138
    Take a bullet for science and update that driver! :woot:
     
  29. orblivious Trainee Engineer

    Messages:
    3
    same issue here.
    GTX970
    355.98 Driver version (most recent)

    Was able to start game by changing .cfg file to DX11
    Then game crashed, 1st time that ever happened
     
  30. 666Savior Apprentice Engineer

    Messages:
    196
    Quick point, i think they added some planet code in the update without telling us and its conflicting with some part of the rendering code for DX11
     
  31. thedarkdragon89 Trainee Engineer

    Messages:
    26
    I have that driver version, doesn't work.
     
Thread Status:
This last post in this thread was made more than 31 days old.