Welcome to Keen Software House Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the KSH community.
  1. You are currently browsing our forum as a guest. Create your own forum account to access all forum functionality.

A few general knowledge questions.

Discussion in 'Programming Questions and Suggestions' started by Swanicus, Apr 3, 2015.

Thread Status:
This last post in this thread was made more than 31 days old.
  1. Swanicus Apprentice Engineer

ok, so I'm fairly new to scripting in general (I know next to nothing in all honesty). And I've never even tried scripting in SE.
    Figured I'd ask so questions to understand how the PB works before trying anything. So here goes.

1) How many scripts can be run on a single PB? Or, what is the string limit/line limit of each PB?
    2) Is it better to run multiple scripts on one PB? Or does it make more sense to have a PB for each script I intend to run?

I know their both pretty similar questions. But I feel like I need to know this stuff before I attempt to use the PB.

Thanks in advance guys.

2. plaYer2k Master Engineer

There are mainly two important limits for your code in PBs.

The first is the amount of characters you can use max. It is iirc 100k. You can not exceed that so dont write too big things in one or you need to split them.
    This has i think two reasons. The first is to set a low limit to your code complexity and intensity (see point two) but also to reduce the dll size and thus not bloat it artificially as it might be an issue for the server that has to handle multiple PBs aswell as a single PBs editor which is not optimized yet.

The second important and less easy to determine limit is the instruction counter.
    Each instruction got a certain value assigned. So the more you use them, the more that counter increases.