Welcome to Keen Software House Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the KSH community.
  1. You are currently browsing our forum as a guest. Create your own forum account to access all forum functionality.

Building a Good Rover

Discussion in 'General' started by WhiteWeasel, Nov 19, 2015.

Thread Status:
This last post in this thread was made more than 31 days old.
  1. WhiteWeasel Senior Engineer

With the release of planets I've tried my hand at building ground vehicles.

EDIT: Here's a link to it!

I have never built rovers before so I have a few questions thoughts on rovers:

-What do damping and strength do?
    -Since they do not need to fly, is your vehicle weight that important?

Travelling on ground is often jerky feeling, what's a way to fix that? Is it a good ratio between power and friction?

Last edited: Nov 20, 2015
    • Like Like x 2
  2. Dirktooth Apprentice Engineer

It would be great if someone could do a break down of each setting what it does and optimal settings.

My rover dosent steer for crap. I often feel like i travel half the planet {OK maybe not half} just to turn around. Should i go with all steering? just the front 2 tires steer? Whats good? WHat works?

So many questions and it seems its the new thing that is a must have.

3. infiltr8 Trainee Engineer

I Keep Friction relativly low so the Rover slides instead of rolling over in turns.

Keep the centre of mass as low as possible.

Damping is the Damping force of the comined Spring/Damper Assembly where ur wheel attaches... Dont turn it all the way down...

4. noxLP Junior Engineer

Wheels settings are explained more than once through the forums, it's a pretty common question. And you have the original keen video too.