Welcome to Keen Software House Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the KSH community.
  1. You are currently browsing our forum as a guest. Create your own forum account to access all forum functionality.

changing the spawn group to crashes

Discussion in 'Modding' started by flimp, Jun 11, 2018.

1. flimp Trainee Engineer

so I have been changing the original spawn ship to crashes, this works as long as the ship use to be one of the originals. adding it into the spawn group and the prefab folder isn't working for me so I have to conclude that maybe I need to ad the id number into the some list somewhere as well or the path is some how broken? I seen a post on here for 2014 but didn't really understand how they was fixing it or if its still relevant. any help on this would be awesome as I'm new to modding and cant think of a way to fix this on my own.
    --- Automerge ---
    so what i did was take some of the ships i found as derelicts banged them up uploaded them as a blueprint to steam then changed the .sbc files and put them in prefab, this worked great i had floating damaged derelicts ships, but for some reason when i try this with ships that wasn't already in the spawngroup. folder it dont work, even when i edit the spawngroup file and the sbc file for the ship. i can make the format for both spawngroup and the sbc inside the prefabs folder and it just wont load in the ships. this is driving me crazy :(

2. Digi Senior Engineer

Blueprints are slightly different than prefabs, they have different starting and ending tags, did you edit those?

And I'm not sure I understand, are you saying it crashes? If so, post your SpaceEngineers.log after you've caused the crash again (as the file is rewritten on every game start).

Also can you link your mod (or upload it if it's not yet published).

3. flimp Trainee Engineer