Welcome to Keen Software House Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the KSH community.
  1. You are currently browsing our forum as a guest. Create your own forum account to access all forum functionality.

Engineers vs Beauticians

Discussion in 'General' started by Bullet_Force, Sep 7, 2018.

1. Bullet_Force Apprentice Engineer

I have been playing this game for several years now, its a great I love it but one thing that always struck me as odd is the way a large amount of the community builds and designs things in this game.

Space Engineers is an engineering game at its heart and yet if one stumbles onto the workshop they are instantly bombarded by very pretty looking but poorly engineered designs. Ships that seem to serve no purpose other then to look good. Entirely non functional blobs of expense and weight ripped from their favorite Sci Fi series or hand crafted in front of a mirror.

For instance type in "Battleship" and sort by popularity over all time and you get an entire full of extremely expensive multi million tonne vessels with very limited combat capabilities, poor armament and often made of light armor in large parts but they all look very nice and that is what counts.

These are some of the ships that come up:

[​IMG] [​IMG][​IMG]

All of these are extremely expensive and heavy, the first one alone is 40,000,000, the second is 20,000,000.

Maybe I am just a PVP player that doesn't understand the finer things but I find it a great shame that some really great designs get easily overlooked by these glitzy cosmetic ships. There are some amazing designs out there that do wonders with very little, that to me is what this game is about - engineering.

Anyways that is my view on this, feel free to share your view below.

Last edited: Sep 7, 2018
  2. ShadedMJ Apprentice Engineer

<heh> I've made many very functional ships....all without a single armor block

• Like Like x 2
  3. Stardriver907 Senior Engineer

I hear you. You're singing my song.