Welcome to Keen Software House Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the KSH community.
  1. You are currently browsing our forum as a guest. Create your own forum account to access all forum functionality.

Help with Merge Blocks

Discussion in 'Programming Questions and Suggestions' started by k33n, Mar 23, 2017.

Thread Status:
This last post in this thread was made more than 31 days old.
  1. k33n Trainee Engineer

I'm new to Space Engineers and interested in learning how to use the Programming Block. Though I don't have any C# skills to speak of, I am a C programmer for nearly 20 years. However, I am having trouble searching a simple example of a script in the game.

What I'm really wanting to do right now is turn on a light whenever a Merge Block is activated. I have the Programming Block and a Timer set for 1 second ticks. Any help with guidance on how I can do this would be great. I searched http://www.spaceengineerswiki.com/Scripting_API_Documentation but I'm having trouble finding much in terms of documentation other than scatter object, member, and method lists. :\

2. Laiden Trainee Engineer

Hi k33n, you made some progress meanwhile?
    If there's still some motivation left, im positive that a 'C' familiar will be able to adapt to C# easily. Just about the documentation - SE ingame doc is very fragmented. Apart from these forums threads and the steam official guides for basics, the best point to get updated documentation, is by exploring the SE github source. Use the search engine there.

An advice for first step: Try to setup Visual Studio Community and add SE binaries. This will unlock IntelliSense for Ingame-Code, what make it lightyears easier. Check guides on this forum (or google) for how to configure.