Welcome to Keen Software House Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the KSH community.
  1. You are currently browsing our forum as a guest. Create your own forum account to access all forum functionality.

How to get Camera Sight Accuracy with rail guns? Drift Downward?

Discussion in 'General' started by Weyun, Feb 8, 2018.

Thread Status:
This last post in this thread was made more than 31 days old.
  1. Weyun Trainee Engineer

Newbie here.
    Moving on From basic Missiles to gravity rail guns.
    My design uses a replaceable revolving replaceable shell cartridge.
    first I made a rail gun ship.
    Now I'm on to making a turret.

Now here is the problem.
    Made the turret. Had a camera to act as a sight placed on a pivot so that I could place it directly in
    front of the shell. You now line of sight targeting.
    But weirdly the shell lands below the camera target indicator.
    It seemed to drift downward.

First I thought it was a turret rotor friction issue. used the lock to adjust for that,
    Results were the same.
    Next, I thought the sight pivoting action performed by the rotor may be shaking the gun.
    Adjusted but same.
    Next, I thought it may be the placement of the artificial mass block that is making the shell drift in flight.
    Adjusted but same.
    Now I'm at the camera sight.
    At zoom, camera sight seems to be vertically off. It is pointing higher than where the shells are landing.
    So, I placed the camera 3 large blocks above where the actual shell.
    The results are better.
    It is weird since the higher placed camera is looking lower than the lower placed camera.
    Inverted.

Am I the only one with this issue?

Last edited: Feb 8, 2018
  2. oleando Apprentice Engineer

Post blueprint i'll solve your problem if possible and report what caused it.

3. Dragonspride Apprentice Engineer

Sounds like the inertia from the merge block is throwing you off. I had the same problem.

4. Weyun Trainee Engineer