Welcome to Keen Software House Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the KSH community.
  1. You are currently browsing our forum as a guest. Create your own forum account to access all forum functionality.

Kite Fighter Mk 3 Release! - Whiplash Military Industries (WMI)

Discussion in 'Community Creations' started by Whiplash141, Jun 11, 2015.

Thread Status:
This last post in this thread was made more than 31 days old.
  1. halipatsui Senior Engineer

    Messages:
    1,253
    No. I mean te target character, ship or station.
     
    • Funny Funny x 1
  2. Ronin1973 Master Engineer

    Messages:
    4,845
    There is a boolean for that: "lockVector"
    [/QUOTE]

    I don't see "lockVector" anywhere in the latest script. Hmmmmm...
     
  3. Whiplash141 Junior Engineer

    Messages:
    958
    RIP

    That apparently got lost in an old version I custom made for Lord Commissar. Time to add it back in lol.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. Ronin1973 Master Engineer

    Messages:
    4,845
    Well... if you're in a-codin' mood:

    For larger ships that fire vertically, there's always the possibility that a missile won't clear the bow of your ship as the script exists. With a secondary set of offsets, the missile can use those offsets to stay clear of the mothership while flying towards the target. If you are able to clear the bow, you usually have to set the boost phase of the launch very high. The missile then will spend a lot of time and energy tracking back to the correct vector. It will overshoot the vector, track back, overshoot a little less, and so on until it's on the vector.

    A second set of offsets would allow the missile to boost clear of its hangar and then fly parallel to the mothership; wasting less energy/time. When the missile reaches a safe distance from from the Shooter Reference, it then switches over to a second set of offsets for the remainder of its flight. This should be governed by a bool that allows the user to turn enable this feature. Basically when Vector3D.Distance(shooterreference, remoteblock)>stageTwoDistance, offsetUp = stageTwoOffsetUp and offsetLeft = stageTwoOffsetLeft.

    If you add these variables to your .CustomData list, that would be awesome too. I'm currently hacking this into the existing code. But having it in the official code would be most awesome. I think the amount of code time would be minimal since you're just instructing the code to use a different set of values if a simple condition is met.


    Add
    bool enableStage2Offsets
    double stageTwoOffsetUp
    double stageTwoOffsetLeft
    double stageTwoDistance
     
  5. Whiplash141 Junior Engineer

    Messages:
    958
    Keen took a steaming shit on my chest with today's "Major" update. Almost all my codes are broken due to their "WorldMatrix optimizations."
    I'm now in damage control mode fixing all my scripts :|
     
  6. Xanthyn Trainee Engineer

    Messages:
    62
    So sorry Whiplash :(
    The only one I have tested so far was the Horizon script, which appears to be working correctly.
     
  7. Whiplash141 Junior Engineer

    Messages:
    958
    It works as long as no other scripts are using WorldMatrix as well. I'll be releasing a patch ASAP
    --- Automerge ---
    This is an example of what the WorldMatrix bug does:


    The first four missiles are using block.WorldMatrix.Forward (the method they obviously broke)

    The last one uses a workaround devised by Digi:
    PHP:
    //Digi's GetWorldMatrix Method
    //Fixes the broke ass block WorldMatrices
    MatrixD GetWorldMatrix(IMyTerminalBlock block)
    {
        
    Matrix localMatrix;
        
    block.Orientation.GetMatrix(out localMatrix);
        
    localMatrix.Translation block.Position block.CubeGrid.GridSize;
        return 
    localMatrix block.CubeGrid.WorldMatrix;
    }
    Then I use GetWorldMatrix(block).Forward
     
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2017
  8. Wellstat Apprentice Engineer

    Messages:
    212
    Surely all my scripts are broken too.....
     
  9. Whiplash141 Junior Engineer

    Messages:
    958
    I have a supplement for block.GetPosition() as well since that is broken too lol

    PHP:
    Vector3D GetWorldPosition(IMyTerminalBlock block)
    {
        return 
    block.CubeGrid.GridIntegerToWorld(block.Position);
    }
    I am seriously pissed at Keen for this crap...
     
  10. Wellstat Apprentice Engineer

    Messages:
    212
    There was a time where the GridIntegerToWorld would update correctly for a few seconds before deciding to freeze its values. May be same issue for the WorldMatrix.... Last time it took few weeks to get it fixed, and without any mentioning in changelog.
     
  11. Whiplash141 Junior Engineer

    Messages:
    958
    This world matrix crap was done for "optimization".
    --- Automerge ---
    So I got burned out fixing crap and decided to throw together an automatic aiming gravity gun system
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  12. Xanthyn Trainee Engineer

    Messages:
    62
    Wow. I can't even begin to imagine how you figure out the acceleration on the projectile and do all that other math >.<
     
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  13. Whiplash141 Junior Engineer

    Messages:
    958
    Well the answer is I don't worry about the acceleration since it is so absurdly high anyways :p

    I just assume that the gun spawns the projectile at max speed. Then solving intercept between two non accelerating targets is merely a matter of triangles and law of cosines!

    This provides a pretty reliable lead that lands you center mass! I've actually been having issues where the first projectile in a volley hits so perfectly, that it completely changes the target's velocity vector making the follower rounds less effective :woot:

    I was able to hit a moving military escort at 10km center mass, so I'm pretty satisfied!
     
  14. 3eepoint Junior Engineer

    Messages:
    926
    Long range grav gun PMW fights annyone? Would be cool to build turrets for this....has this WW2 battleship feeling to it...
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. Whiplash141 Junior Engineer

    Messages:
    958
    • Like Like x 1
  16. Ronin1973 Master Engineer

    Messages:
    4,845

    Damn it... I just got my mod of your script working right before the update: secondary left/up offsets, selectable Shooter Reference block, choice between optical guidance or fire and forget: I worked that out without your bool-shit. :)

    And it's all menu driven from the host ship, downloads to the missile via custom data in the merge block, then fires.

    Ugh... I hope you get it worked out soon. I'll have to re-engineer my mod once again.
    --- Automerge ---
    I just posted this bug. Anyone else having problems with timers when welding up missiles and firing them?
    https://forums.keenswh.com/threads/...-not-populating-from-projection-weld.7395306/
     
  17. carnivore Apprentice Engineer

    Messages:
    158
    I've been waiting for the turret update! :D
     
    • Like Like x 1
  18. Whiplash141 Junior Engineer

    Messages:
    958
    I made a meme guys!
    [​IMG]
     
    • Funny Funny x 3
  19. Ronin1973 Master Engineer

    Messages:
    4,845
    So my large grid missiles seem to be functioning fine on a large grid host. Is the problem only affecting small grid missiles on a large grid host?
     
  20. Whiplash141 Junior Engineer

    Messages:
    958
    Spam a bunch
     
  21. Whiplash141 Junior Engineer

    Messages:
    958
    Actually scratch that. I think they fixed it with one of the 523 undocumented hotfixes they did :woot:
     
  22. Timberwolf Apprentice Engineer

    Messages:
    246
    I ought to figure out how that missile system works so I may install it in a ship of my own.
     
  23. Sarekh Senior Engineer

    Messages:
    1,178
    Hrrrghgghh... either I am too stupid to set my new turret up or the script does for some reason beyond me not recognize small grid gatling guns - the turret is setup correctly and the ownership as well. But the turret says it does not have any weaponry in the turret group. Have I slept through some changes or is the game broken again beyond feasibility?
     
  24. halipatsui Senior Engineer

    Messages:
    1,253
    Turrets have been screwing over since last weeks patch.

    I noticed that on rdavs script rocket launcjers cannot shoot with the "shoot on" function but after using "shoot once" they could fire for some time.
    Maybe you are experiencing similar problem?
     
  25. Whiplash141 Junior Engineer

    Messages:
    958
    Turret AI is broke, not your fault.

    I discovered this and patched that issue a week ago
     
  26. halipatsui Senior Engineer

    Messages:
    1,253
    Have i already told i love you?
     
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  27. Whiplash141 Junior Engineer

    Messages:
    958
    Alright boys and gals! I need an opinion.

    I need a good easy to remember name tag for my Mouse Aimed Rotor Turret (MART) code.

    Currently the name tag is "Mouse Aimed"

    I'm thinking of changing the name tag to "MART" (not case sensitive)

    Opinions?
    --- Automerge ---
    Which artwork do you like the best?
     
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2017
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  28. Sarekh Senior Engineer

    Messages:
    1,178
    I like version number three the most!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  29. Ronin1973 Master Engineer

    Messages:
    4,845
    Whipsmart nice..
     
    • Funny Funny x 1
  30. Whiplash141 Junior Engineer

    Messages:
    958
    Alright, late to update this post because I've been busy. Buuuuuut I released my code!

    Presenting the Mouse Aimed Rotor Turret Script (MART)!
    https://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=944915802

    --- Automerge ---
    Holy hell, I didn't even see this!!! HAHAHAHA I'm rolling now :woot:
     
    • Like Like x 2
Thread Status:
This last post in this thread was made more than 31 days old.