Welcome to Keen Software House Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the KSH community.
  1. You are currently browsing our forum as a guest. Create your own forum account to access all forum functionality.

The World Engineers Guild

Discussion in 'Groups & Dedicated Servers' started by Jugbot, Apr 12, 2015.

Thread Status:
This last post in this thread was made more than 31 days old.
  1. Jugbot Apprentice Engineer

[​IMG]

Last edited: Apr 15, 2015
  2. Bullethead Apprentice Engineer

Nice logo, Jugbot :). Glad you've set up this place as a clearing house of world-building stuff. I guess I'll contribute the 1st pebble of knowledge to the cairn we'll eventually build up.

1. World Machine
    I admit to being a total noob with this software but already I can see a few things that I think wannbe world-builders should be aware of, which are:

A. World Machine comes in 3 single-user flavors: Basic (free, max output 512, only uses 1 CPU core and limited ability to tweak settings of the supplied devices), Standard ($99, output size limited by system, uses only 2 cores, fully tweakable), and Pro ($249, supercomputer-friendly). Honestly, as of right now, I don't recommend buying even the Standard Edition. ME is a decidedly lo-res application when it comes to terrain so a 512 height map made by the free WM version looks WAY better in-game on any size ME map than a sized-for-the-map-size height map from a paid-for versioin of WM. Furthermore, a 512 height map made by the free version looks WAY better than a 512 height map made by WM Standard on the same map. Using WM Standard at ANY resolution results in grossly terraced hillsides instead of smooth slopes, no doubt because it's intented to run all night on a supercomputer making ultra hi-res textrues and so looks like crap someting as small as an ME map.. So don't bother buying WM.