Welcome to Keen Software House Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the KSH community.
  1. You are currently browsing our forum as a guest. Create your own forum account to access all forum functionality.

Update 01.178 DEV - Multiplayer Improvements & LOD Optimizations

Discussion in 'Change Log' started by Drui, Mar 9, 2017.

Thread Status:
This last post in this thread was made more than 31 days old.
  1. Drui Keen Update Guy Administrator

    Messages:
    1,369
    Summary
    Hello, Engineers! Today’s update contains numerous multiplayer improvements and LOD optimizations. Firstly, there should no longer be cases of missing planets, asteroids and grids when connected to multiplayer servers. We also added a loading wheel to indicate when anything from the server is being streamed to the client. This will definitely help players by letting them know that the surrounding environment is still loading when selecting a medbay in the respawn screen. Additionally, there were some other minor desync fixes made this week. For example, you should not see any HUD warnings from other connected players from now on.
    There were LOD optimizations made to block models which should result in various performance gains with many worlds and builds although the changes will be most noticeable on lower end systems.
    Newly placed blocks will now inherit the velocity of the character when moving faster than 15m/s. Below this speed, any block placed will have zero velocity. It’s a subtle change but should be useful when trying to build on a fast moving ship. Before this, a newly placed block would’ve just been left behind potentially colliding with the existing grid that you’re standing on. We also resolved issues with corner light flares and stations pasted into voxels being unable to move their mechanical parts.
    Lastly, we have created a much more detailed guide for the cutscene editor which you can find on the forums. This is part of our ongoing efforts to produce more guides for the modding and scripting of Space Engineers.



    Features
    - LOD Optimizations
    - Newly placed blocks inheriting the velocity of the player
    - Cutscene Editor Guide: http://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=879883672

    Fixes
    - fixed issue with grids and voxels not appearing from client
    - fixed issue with grid not reloading
    - fixed character leaning in certain situation when using mag boots
    - fixed crash when spawning in a small drill ship
    - fixed issue with synchronization of trees between client and server
    - fixed synchronization between client and server for corpse GPS marker
    - fixed issue with sub grids turning into station when their main grid was placed into voxel.

    Hotfix 178.004:
    - added 15 M/s threshold for when placing blocks during movement
    - added mountpoint on small merge block
    - fixed crash when locking to another grid that is being controlled
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 10, 2017
    • Like x 32
    • Disagree x 4
    • Funny x 3
    • Informative x 1
    • Late x 1
  2. KingDank Trainee Engineer

    Messages:
    17
    1st
     
    • Late Late x 1
  3. Carlosmaid Apprentice Engineer

    Messages:
    175
    yes fixes! update is dev
     
  4. Slywolf117 Trainee Engineer

    Messages:
    33
    is this stable or dev?
     
  5. Commander Rotal Master Engineer

    Messages:
    4,942
    Hrm. Hoping for some undocumented fixes there... and Lense Flare options.

    Edit: give me a minute but i think there's some undocumented fixing going on. Let me verify that real quick.
    Update: so, yeah, pleasantly surprised over here. While copypasting is still buggered it's now more cooperative. The pastegrid still seems to... "hang" or "get stuck" on something invisible but it SEEMS like they're working on it in the background. Let's hope i'm not jinxing it.
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2017
    • Like Like x 3
    • Agree Agree x 1
  6. Asdf-U-Ninja Trainee Engineer

    Messages:
    22
    5lth

    Thank you SO MUCH for fixing the grids when joining a multiplayer game. I can finally continue playing with my m8s. Keep up the good work!
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2017
    • Agree Agree x 1
  7. Fisk Hextail Trainee Engineer

    Messages:
    43
  8. hlws Tester Staff

    Messages:
    269
    At the last moment we decided to remove the treshold for the blocks velocity feature. We are under the impression that the threshold was redudant. However we are looking for feedback from you guys. So what do you think is a treshold necessary? What speed would be the treshold at?

    Thank you
     
    • Informative Informative x 5
    • Friendly Friendly x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  9. zerek528 Trainee Engineer

    Messages:
    11
    I literally ran into issues with missing planets last night, this will be way better!

    Thanks KEEN!
     
  10. Ed Frost Senior Engineer

    Messages:
    1,139
    yay(?)
     
    • Funny Funny x 1
  11. Slywolf117 Trainee Engineer

    Messages:
    33
    Guessing it's for Dev then, since there isn't an update available for stable atm on steam.
     
  12. Commander Rotal Master Engineer

    Messages:
    4,942
    Depends. What velocity is deadly when the Engineer bumps into it? The threshhold should be slightly below that. Though i'm not much of a fan of this feature at all because a freshly placed block in space that starts drifting by default is just going to cause all kinds of havok, no pun intended; i'd have recommended against it entirely had someone asked me. Plus the problem ONLY exists because we can't turn off the placing of blocks without grids-feature. It's great to have as an option but 9 times out of 10 it results in having to track down random blocks that were the result of misclicks, sometimes behind walls where you only find them with the Space Master Tool.
    We've heard talks about being allowed to turn this off; i can't remember if it was ever downright promissed but we've been waiting patiently for that for a while without it happening...

    Short version: axe automatic velocity feature, add option to turn off the free placing of blocks. Maybe tie it to the R-button, that one doesn't seem to get any use anymore anyway.
     
    • Agree Agree x 6
  13. Lurch84 Trainee Engineer

    Messages:
    63
    Nope no new options to kill that annoyance and agreed on the free placement. I've had some of those misclicked blocks spawn inside already placed blocks, causing massive damage (refinery full of ore going nuclear as an example).

    Edit- There is no safe velocity in SE, if it's moving roll a dice to see if the physics will kill you. Also having to remain at 0 velocity to place anything... more tedium.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  14. FireGuy1996 Trainee Engineer

    Messages:
    84
    Hey! Its a new month! Did you guys forget about the stable branch update?!
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  15. Eol Trainee Engineer

    Messages:
    12
    Is there anybody else that do not have the video ?? It says *video* but nothing...
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Disagree Disagree x 1
  16. Bruce LeedleLeedleLeedleLee Junior Engineer

    Messages:
    813
    "- Newly placed blocks inheriting the velocity of the player"

    NOOOOO

    Edit: Okay, everything is alright, this happens just over 15m/s
    ALSO: THANK YOU! Finally copy pasting of stations with movable parts is working again!
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2017
    • Agree Agree x 4
  17. FireGuy1996 Trainee Engineer

    Messages:
    84
    The video is up on youtube at least.
     
  18. Eol Trainee Engineer

    Messages:
    12
    @FireGuy1996 Thanks bro. Anyway I got it now. First time it did it to me, but it looked like an upload bug or something ^^
     
    • Like Like x 1
  19. FlakMagnet Senior Engineer

    Messages:
    1,551
    There HAS to be a threshold before a block inherits velocity from the player.

    Otherwise...unless you are completely static when you place a block, it will move. Granted, this only really affects the first placement of a block that is not anchored to anything.... but if it were set to something low like 5m/s, then a slightly drifting player would not create a slightly drifting block when they meant it to be static. It's a question of ensuring the player only creates a moving block WHEN THEY MEAN TO....not because they were simply not 100% static.

    Also....naturally....this will only be relevant in space as blocks placed on a planet will fall to the ground or be anchored to it in any case, and that would be unnoticable unless the player had a fair amount of speed up when they launched the block.
     
    • Agree Agree x 4
  20. lelocobr Trainee Engineer

    Messages:
    3
    Do we have an lens flare turn off feature there?? :D
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  21. Daev Trainee Engineer

    Messages:
    18
    HUD dear where are you? :(We are waiting for you for the third week, one update for you has been postponed! We miss you, as well as ships that do not descend during gravity themselves! About wheels and pistons we no longer remember it was a dream, a sweet dream:eek:ops:
     
    • Funny Funny x 2
  22. Commander Rotal Master Engineer

    Messages:
    4,942
    Well, in Creative you can turn it off via the F12 debug menu, but it doesn't work in Survival, don't think it works in MP or at least not in all versions of it (regular vs DS, who knows, i never play MP) and we all know it won't survive the Release anyway... nope, but copypasting is more cooperative than last week. Still a little bugged but i think it's working enough to be useable again.
    --- Automerge ---
    I am so damn pleased that they're taking their time with that one.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Disagree Disagree x 1
  23. lilbigmouth Trainee Engineer

    Messages:
    29
    Whilst you have been looking at this screen, could we also have the ability to chat from it too? It would be nice to ask a server where I should spawn before actually spawning somewhere.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  24. Ryuuji Apprentice Engineer

    Messages:
    230
    And enabling gravity range still causes a crash to desktop after +2 months. I thought we were in the bug fixin period.
     
    • Agree Agree x 4
    • Informative Informative x 1
  25. Renegrade Trainee Engineer

    Messages:
    40
    Y'know, sometimes you can work on something too much. It's called Feeping Creatures, or something like that.

    Oh well, maybe they'll surprise us with a really excellent HUD, with user-programmable elements..
     
  26. JD.Horx Senior Engineer

    Messages:
    1,008
    Uhm, where is the HUD you guys promised two weeks ago? I thought it would be ready? Just asking.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  27. Mr Engineer Apprentice Engineer

    Messages:
    467
    No HUD? News on that please? What about allowing merge blocks to project weld again? Still annoyed at Lense Flare, it blinds and kind of hurts when accidentally looked at. Were supposed to have some kind of protective eye sheild?
    It was an okay update. Thanks Keen!
     
  28. KingdomBragg Junior Engineer

    Messages:
    544
    Nice, thanks :)
     
  29. Daev Trainee Engineer

    Messages:
    18
    Then wherefore was there any promise that there was not even a trace? And postpone the updates without showing even the teaser at least with a hint of its existence. I do not debate that it can be beautiful for after 5 years;) I'm sorry use a translator
     
  30. zorgkirill Apprentice Engineer

    Messages:
    196
    Still unable to launch the game after your bug...
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
Thread Status:
This last post in this thread was made more than 31 days old.