Welcome to Keen Software House Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the KSH community.
  1. You are currently browsing our forum as a guest. Create your own forum account to access all forum functionality.

Where is my Dedicated Server Bottle Neck?

Discussion in 'Groups & Dedicated Servers' started by SeaBiscuit, Feb 6, 2018.

Thread Status:
This last post in this thread was made more than 31 days old.
  1. SeaBiscuit Trainee Engineer

I have rented a dedicated server from an "approved" provider and I am seeing constant LAG throughout all players experience on the server.

Before I get a response about... we can't help you until you post more info on <Insert Anything Here>... Please hear me out.

I am a 20+ year Server/Desktop hardware expert. So I understand how bus speeds, Disk IO and other seemly overlooked areas plague application experiences.

So, as a good tech, I am not looking for you to fully examine my system, configs etc right off the bat... I am really looking for some form of guide or help on bench marking my SE dedicated server as users are playing. As in... is there anything in real time which I can see. XYZ is killing Disk I/O... or XYZ is currently waiting on CPU Cycles?
    at this point, because of the Server HOST wanting to protect their OS (most likely on a shared server) I have no access to OS Level performance monitoring.

some quick notes on my server to show I have a little bit of an idea about SE and I have done some research...
    The SE Dedicated server currently has no MODs installed. It has been running for about a month, with me reading every tweak, SE Config setting and making adjustments as I felt might help. I have turned off dogs (left spiders on for the current), Turned off Oxygen containment, and felt I have almost turned off most everything or limited it to the point I almost think it is too limited.