Welcome to Keen Software House Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the KSH community.
  1. Hello Guest!
    Welcome to the Bug Report forum, please make sure you search for your problem before posting here. If you post a duplicate (that you post the same issue while other people have already done that before) you will be given a warning point which can eventually lead into account limitations !

    Here you can find a guide on how to post a good bug report thread.
    Space Engineers version [Extra] --- Medieval Engineers version
  2. You are currently browsing our forum as a guest. Create your own forum account to access all forum functionality.

[1.174] Twisty Piston doom!

Discussion in 'Bug Reports' started by Azirahael, Feb 10, 2017.

  1. Azirahael

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2016
    Messages:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    17
    So, after one of last week's patches, pistons went haywire in a quite specific way.

    Single pistons seem ok.
    But when you have multiple pistons in parallel, you get problems.

    [​IMG]

    For example, of you are trying to build a stable lift platform, with a piston on each corner, after everything has been welded, as soon as you start to move, everything twists, as in the pic above.

    And if you do this on a vehicle, it catapults itself into space at warp 9.9

    This seems to happen with vanilla AND modded pistons, like Better Piston mod.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  2. trav0370

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    2
    To add to this, if you ever add a piston on the end of another piston, for example, to double the stroke length....

    Then build a big of mass on the end of it, and even brush a hair across it, it will wobble. then wobble worse ,and worse and worse until its doing a heavy metal helecopter.

    Oh, also only in MP from what ive seen.
     
  3. hlws Tester Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016
    Messages:
    260
    Trophy Points:
    57
    Hi guys,
    Thank you very much for your feedback. Please, can you send your savegame of the world where it is happening, so as we can have closer look at the issue. Is it in single player Azirahael?
    Thanks and have a nice day :)
     
  4. trav0370

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    2
    Sorry I dont have save games it is on a dedicated MP server. perhaps that will help.

    To replicate, create a station, add a piston, then a piston on the end of it. add a grid of 10x10 large blocks. bump it with something. presto.

    Sometimes easier to replicate with the pistons extended, but i find it really makes no difference.
     
  5. Ekuah

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    81
    Trophy Points:
    92
    I have observed this phenomenon too.
    But it was not a multi piston platform, but a single piston between a station and a ship cradle.
    Sadly the the repeatability is quite low.
    Changing a single block on the station can fix the issue. But any change can also re invoke it (on any piston).

    Right now you can catch it with this game:
    http://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=860427453
    Just unlock "Prospector Connector" (if you don't want be be smashed by a ship)
    go to "Prospector Piston 1"
    uncheck the "safety lock override" on it
    and reverse it's direction

    On my machines the piston will turn 90° by it's own axis.
    (If you forgot to undock the connector, it will whip the attached ship around like a club)

    Systems:
    Win 7 64 bit
    16GB Ram
    SE 01.172.019 Stable

    Core i7
    Nvidia Quattro

    FX 8350
    Radeon R9 280
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2017
  6. Azirahael

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2016
    Messages:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    17
    Sorry, but no, not easily, anyway.
    There seems to have been an update since last night ???
    And even since then, all my reactors no longer work, and my ship falls out of the sky and explodes.

    And even if i switch to creative, and add some vanilla reactors, instead of falling, it cartwheels through the sky.

    In short, just make a 4 piston lift platform as shown above.
    I recommend DIGI's advanced welding mod to make this stuff easier.

    P.S: yep, single player.
    --- Automerge ---
    a reinstall fixed my other issues, but this twisty piston doom is totally consistent for me.

    Oh, and predictably, if you do it on a vehicle, that vehicle will rapidly A: kill you B: leave the planet. C: explode.
     
  7. Butimimeru

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    2
    A bug occurs if piston is connected using merge block.
    A bug occurs if the two grid pivots do not match.

    <iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/ujCKSWdxZT4" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>
    If grid pivot other than green pivod is wrong, ship or top piston part turns around.

    When the grid pivot other than the red pivot is wrong, the piston twists.It will not be usable.


    Sorry for my poor English.
     
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2017
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Urablahblah

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013
    Messages:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    132
    Glad you were able to get this posted. I was going to share a link to your video if you didn't. It clearly demonstrates the problem! (@hlws watch his video)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Azirahael

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2016
    Messages:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    17
    Awesome work spotting this.

    It's not what's happening with me, exactly, but it probably relates.
    MY stuff was all built in situ, and has the same alignment.

    But yeah, similar, definitely.
     
  10. Butimimeru

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    2
    Thank you for seeing my poor movie.
    Based on the movie of the other day, I made a movie that connects piston.


    I think that it will be easier to work by installing it while checking the bottom of piston.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  11. Azirahael

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2016
    Messages:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    17
    I thought it was very clear, and well done.
    I dare say the devs will find it enormously helpful :)

    Also, your second vid looks a lot closer to what i have.
    Looks like i might have laid down one of the pistons at a different rotation.

    Fingers crossed, they fix it in the next patch :p
     
    • Like Like x 2
  12. hlws Tester Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016
    Messages:
    260
    Trophy Points:
    57
    They you very much guys. I was able to reproduce the issue and it has been reported to the programmers. Thanks for video too ! It was very helpful. Your feedback is important for making the game better.
    Have a nice day :)
     
    • Friendly Friendly x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  13. Azirahael

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2016
    Messages:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    17
    Fixed in the latest update :)

    New bugs though.
     
  14. Spanker

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Well , it is really easy to again make the piston ghost bug work again : set it to any speed limit above autorised one .

    Meaning there was no fix at all last patch
     
  15. Azirahael

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2016
    Messages:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    17
    Piston ghost?

    What's that?
     
  16. GrindyGears

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    Messages:
    1,666
    Trophy Points:
    172
    Unless a hot fix was the cure, this issue still persists with small grids (though I saw an update today, I'll have to verify)
     
  17. Azirahael

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2016
    Messages:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    17
    [​IMG]

    Yep. Large pistons work fine, but small ones don't.
    Vanilla OR modded.
    --- Automerge ---
    Update: Well, either the bug is intermittent, or it's back.

    I discovered that the problem remains even with large grids, if you build the platform on a ship, rather than the ground.
     
  18. Spanker

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Update 01.173 DEV - New Skybox
    - fixed clipping through piston
     
  19. Azirahael

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2016
    Messages:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    17
    Yep. Still no clue.

    Might have to use words.
     
  20. Spanker

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Sure , ghost and clipping were actually the same thing : please dont be offended but there is this wikipedia article about it .
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Noclip_mode

    In some video games, noclip mode is a video game cheat command that prevents the first-person player character camera from being obstructed by other objects and permits the camera to move in any direction, allowing it to pass through such things as walls, props, and other players.

    Noclipping can be used to cheat, avoid bugs (and help developers debug), find easter eggs, and view areas beyond a map's physical boundary.

    Translating it to you with my poor english skills ( not native : only have CLES 2 wich is TOEC 950 ) : Piston should be physical when a player goes thru it . they are not .

    edit : You can also recognize my efforts by saying " thank you master "
     
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2017
  21. Azirahael

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2016
    Messages:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    17
    So to translate: 'Piston ghost bug' means 'player can walk through piston like it's not there.'

    MAster? Eat me.
     
  22. Spanker

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    1
    haha :p you wont be killed by that , you can say "thank you" too :D

    if u read this article then youll figure out . This is why learnin people says "master" to their master :D
     
  23. Azirahael

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2016
    Messages:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    17
    I'm gonna put this down to language issues.

    But just in case, you are not my master.
    Nor have you done much teaching, if you were going for a 'maestro' kinda vibe.

    Just... stop there, eh?
     
  24. Spanker

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    1
    :D sure but u asked , i replyed u troll :D
     
  25. Azirahael

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2016
    Messages:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    17
    Aaand you didn't stop.
    And called me a troll.

    Go away.
    Stop trying to get people to call you 'master'.
    i did not need an explanation of clipping or ghosting, you simply are not clear in your explanations.

    and to avoid any further acrimony, please don't post again.
    Ideally, on any thread i make.
     
  26. trav0370

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    2
    :munch:


    But seriously, this issue needs looked at.
     
  27. hlws Tester Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016
    Messages:
    260
    Trophy Points:
    57
    Yea guys, this issue is in the pipeline and will be worked on :)
    Have a nice day.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  28. Azirahael

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2016
    Messages:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    17
    Cheers!
     
  29. Azirahael

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2016
    Messages:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    17
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  30. GrindyGears

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    Messages:
    1,666
    Trophy Points:
    172
    a Bump for info, as of version 1.182.019 this is still broken, and i'd dare to say it's gotten worse, atleast in older builds it would atleast wait until you tried moving the pistons before twisting, now it's just twisting as soon as the merge occurs....

    I was expecting the big physics multithreading update to fix a lot of the outstanding issues, but it seems I was wrong.