1. This forum is obsolete and read-only. Feel free to contact us at support.keenswh.com

Code review for first script

Discussion in 'Programming (In-game)' started by oldman, Jul 24, 2020.

1. oldman

oldman Trainee Engineer

Hi all. I am relatively new to SE, and just getting started with the PG and C#, but not new to programming at all. I spent a bit of time this evening reading the docs and some of the posts in this forum (I will certainly read more of them, as there is a lot of good info here) and I worked out my first sort of test script. I value peer review and am mostly just interested in whether I have the basics down correctly or not. Can folks take a look at my script and point out any bad patterns I might have? One of my main concerns is whether I am doing things efficiently or not, as while this is a pretty simple script, I would like to work my way up to fancier things. C# tips are welcome too.

Thanks!

BTW the use-case for this script is just a survival world I've been playing with my young son. He's been having a bit of trouble getting the sensors to work right to trigger our airlocks and whatnot and I figure something like this will help. I'm sure there are scripts out there that do the same basic thing, but I want to do it myself.

Code:
    /*
    Usage:
    Create groups of sensors and doors that you wish to automatically open and close.
    All doors in the group will automatically open when any sensor detects an entity
    within range. The groups must have the word "autodoor" in them. The groups can
    have an arbitrary number of sensors or doors, with the simplest group being
    a single door and a single sensor.

Copy/paste this script into a Program Block and run it.
    Then go name the doors and sensors and add them to your "autodoor" groups.

Simplest Example:
    * Door: "door"
    * Sensor: "sensor"
    * Group contains both of the above and is named "autodoor"

Example wth a bigger group:
    * Doors: "door", "door2", "door3"