Welcome to Keen Software House Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the KSH community.
  1. You are currently browsing our forum as a guest. Create your own forum account to access all forum functionality.

Need help with airlock script

Discussion in 'Programming Questions and Suggestions' started by Oztopher, Apr 24, 2020.

Thread Status:
This last post in this thread was made more than 31 days old.
  1. Oztopher Trainee Engineer

Hi All,

2 weeks ago i didn't know what a string was, so a complete beginner here. I read general C# tutorials and some of the tutorials on here, so i have a basic grasp now.

I started writing my own airlock script being annoyed at using timer blocks to get what i wanted.

It's an airlock for an asteroid space station so the outer door will always be leading to space. Although in the future would be nice to create an adaptable script for large ships which enter atmospheres. I made it on creative mode lone survivor to get it working before i apply it to my survival game's asteroid space station.

It's a simple script that consists of 2 doors, an outer and inner, sensors for each door, a block space between the doors for a vent above which connects to a isolated oxygen tank (to prevent it from becoming full).

Code:
    		public Program()
    		{
    			Runtime.UpdateFrequency = UpdateFrequency.Update100;
    // i've read this can replace the need for a timer block
    		}

public void Main()
    		{
    			IMyAirtightSlideDoor insideDoor;

insideDoor = GridTerminalSystem.GetBlockWithName("Sliding Door Inside") as IMyAirtightSlideDoor;
    			if (insideDoor == null)
    			{
    				Echo("Couldn't find block 'Sliding Door Inside'");
    				return;
    			}

IMyAirtightSlideDoor outsideDoor;

outsideDoor = GridTerminalSystem.GetBlockWithName("Sliding Door Outside") as IMyAirtightSlideDoor;
    			if (outsideDoor == null)
    			{
    				Echo("Couldn't find block 'Sliding Door Outside'");
    				return;
    			}