Welcome to Keen Software House Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the KSH community.
  1. You are currently browsing our forum as a guest. Create your own forum account to access all forum functionality.

New Player, Survival & Dedicated Server Questions

Discussion in 'Survival' started by Greylock3491, Apr 4, 2020.

Thread Status:
This last post in this thread was made more than 31 days old.
  1. Greylock3491 Trainee Engineer

Good morning,

I'm new to Space Engineers and thought it would be fun to play with friends starting on Earth, but I've run into a number of problems and can't find the answers anywhere :-(

The first problem is spawning - does anyone know how this works with a dedicated server?

When I first started playing, everytime I joined the server I would be presented with the spawn screen, and I would choose Earth Drop Pod and I would spawn randomly on the planet.

I would then start grinding and building, and after awhile I would leave the game only to find when I came back I couldn't spawn back where I was working, and I had to start from scratch - not very fun.

Recently I chose the Med Bay at the Easy Earth Base to spawn and now I'm spawning there all the time and no longer see the option to choose a drop pod.

Problem with this is, I have no resources? With no pod to grind down I can't make a refinery and constructor.

Am I doing something wrong, or is the game just broken?

Thanks in advance for any help!

Grey

2. Malware Master Engineer

You're describing how things are designed to work. It's a server setting, but by default, once you've spawned, you will autorespawn at the nearest respawn point. It's how it's supposed to work.

And... you're probably grinding down your spawn source - the survival kit.

Don't do that.