Welcome to Keen Software House Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the KSH community.
  1. You are currently browsing our forum as a guest. Create your own forum account to access all forum functionality.

Other ways to power a base?!?

Discussion in 'Tutorials' started by Arwth, Dec 27, 2018.

Thread Status:
This last post in this thread was made more than 31 days old.
  1. Arwth Trainee Engineer

Hi guys, noob here J

I have my first improvised main base that I’m still working on in survival mode - star system scenario currently on earth.

I got the basics set like a container, assembler, o2 / H2 generator and tank, refinery, 3 large battery’s.

As a roof I used 4 large solar panels, and 2 on the side to catch the sun as it goes under.

They seem to work because in the daylight I see the green lights lighted on them. I keep having this problem where my battery’s keep running out of power I’m constantly struggling to switching them off when I’m not doing anything. Then when day breaks turning them on recharge but it is just not enough…

I’m not using conveyor systems.

Am I doing something wrong, or is there an alternative way to power my base.

Any pointers would be greatly appreciated.

Kind regards

Kenneth

• Like Like x 1
  2. mojomann71 Senior Engineer

If you have enough resources to build a small reactor do that. The solars are not strong enough to recharge your batteries efficiently. The small reactor will take care of that for you, and once the batteries are charged they will take over as your main source of power. :) The small reactor will not require too much Uranium. That should get you back on track.

If you are not near a Uranium deposit and you are not against using mods in your world this mod will net you small amounts of Uranium from anything that you refine (and get ice from stone): Uranium and Ice Mod

Last edited: Dec 27, 2018
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Arwth Trainee Engineer